Slide background

Six judges appointed to the Court of Appeal

Six High Court judges have been appointed to the Court of Appeal, to fill vacancies that will arise from autumn 2016.

The Queen has approved the appointment of one Lady Justice and five Lord Justices of Appeal. They are:

  • Mrs Justice Thirlwall;
  • Mr Justice Flaux;
  • Mr Justice Henderson;
  • Mr Justice Hickinbottom;
  • Mr Justice Irwin; and
  • Mr Justice Moylan.

The appointments were required in the light of forthcoming retirements in the Court of Appeal and the promotion of Sir Terence Etherton, who will take up appointment as Master of the Rolls on 3 October.

Slide background