Slide background

SLG calls for nominations for Young Solicitor of the Year 2013 award

Solicitors in Local Government is calling for nominations for the Young Solicitor of the Year 2013 award, which was set up to recognise the contribution local government solicitors contribute to their authorities and communities.

This is the ninth year of the award, which is sponsored by law firm Trowers & Hamlins. The previous winners were:

  • 2005 – Louise Whitesman (Herefordshire Council)
  • 2006 – Simon Goacher (Wirral MBC)
  • 2007 – Habib Aziz (Leeds City Council
  • 2008 – Cathryn Moore (North Yorkshire County Council)
  • 2009 – Nathalie Birkett (Nottinghamshire County Council)
  • 2010 – Laurie Trounce (Cornwall Council)
  • 2011 – Naomi Bentley-Lawson (Warwickshire County Council)
  • 2012 – Kirsten Maslen (West Sussex County Council)

The award is open to any local government solicitor who has up to ten years’ post qualification experience.

The winner will be announced at the SLG Annual Dinner on 22 March 2013 at the University of Warwick, during the Weekend School.

Article continues below...

Special commendations are also awarded in years where the judges feel that more than one applicant is worthy of recognition.

Nominations can be made by the applicant, their manager, a client officer or member, or other local authority representative who recognises the contribution made by the applicant.

The judges will look for:

  • evidence of innovation;
  • a material impact on an authority’s performance;
  • best practice and/or
  • a contribution to raising the profile of local government lawyers.

Nominations should be sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. at the Law Society by 5 pm on 8 February 2013. 

For more information and to download the nomination form, click here.


Sponsored Editorial

Slide background