Slide background

Deadline for submissions to Local Government Legal Awards extended

The deadline for submissions to the inaugural Local Government Legal Awards has been extended by two weeks.

Lawyers in Local Government, which is organising the awards, said: “Many local government lawyers are very keen to submit their innovative and creative work to the LLG Legal awards.

“But because of work pressure many have requested a small time extension. LLG understands the difficulty and is very pleased to assist.”

The new deadline for submissions is 11 July 2014.

Article continues below...

There are a range of practice categories – from adult social care and health to planning, highways and environment – covered by the awards as well as ones for junior lawyer of the year, individual local government lawyer of the year and local government legal team of the year.

Each category has specific award criteria. However, LLG said the the judges would “particularly be looking for concise, compelling, focused and evidenced submissions” which demonstrate some or all of the following:

  • Excellence and innovation;
  • Community focus;
  • A template for best practice;
  • Significant contribution to corporate objectives;
  • Ability to think beyond narrow legal tramlines;
  • Adaptability to a rapidly changing legal environment;
  • Commercial awareness;
  • Creative use of limited resources;
  • Contribution to authority revenues.

To read the brochure for the awards (including the awards criteria), click here. Submissions must be sent in pdf format to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 27 June.

Philip Thomson, LLG President, said the awards would highlight the vital work being carried out by local government lawyers.

He added that they would “give due recognition to the significant public added value generated by local government lawyers, and inspire and motivate all local government lawyers to reach out beyond their best”.

Thomson said LLG was “very keen that no-one misses out through pressure of vital work for the benefit of local communities”, but added that “if you’re not in, you can never win”.

The awards ceremony will be held at the Rosewood Hotel in London on 29 November 2014, with tickets costing £60.

Sponsored Editorial

Slide background